Hair Regimen Changes (since my big chop)

It has only been 3 weeks since I became fully natural (coming off of an 11 month transition), and these past 3 weeks have been a learning experience. Even though I transitioned for almost a year, my hair still surprised me in how it responded to my typical regimen.

I underestimated how much those few inches of relaxed hair changed things, but now I know. And now that the relaxed ends are gone, I have to adjust. So here’s my new regimen.

Shampoo Wash Days (every 2 weeks)

  • Pre-poo/finger detangle with Olive Oil.
    • Divide hair into small sections, drench in Olive Oil, and twist
    • Leave in for ~30 minutes (or over night, if the mood strikes me).
  • Wash hair in twists (currently using Shea Moisture Moisture Retention Shampoo)
  • Apply deep conditioner in twists (currently using Aubrey Organics Honey Suckle Rose Conditioner)
  • Air dry (in twists) for at least an hour before applying leave in products (I undo each twist to apply product then re-twist for my twist out the next day):
    • Silk Elements Leave-in
    • Cantu Shea Butter
    • Shea Moisture Elixir

Co-Wash Days (every 2 weeks)

  • Co-wash hair (currently using Herbal Essence Hello Hydration)
    • Divide hair into small sections apply conditioner (while in the shower), detangle with a wide-toothed comb, and twist
    • Let conditioner sit while completing shower routine
  • Rinse out conditioner (leaving twists in hair)
  • Air dry (in twists) for at least an hour before applying leave in products (I undo each twist to apply product then re-twist for my twist out the next day):
    • Silk Elements Leave-in
    • Cantu Shea Butter
    • Shea Moisture Elixir

Daily (& Nightly) Routine – My protective style is the twist out pulled back into a puff (see pic below). I can get at least 5 days out of it!

  • Spray water in my hands and smooth the sides and back of my head, as well as the puff on top.
  • Pour oil (Shea Moisture Elixir) into my hands and smooth the sides and back of my head, as well as the puff

I’m still enjoying the journey, still learning so much, and still loving my new lively texture!

Still working on smoothing those edges!

~TS

2 thoughts on “Hair Regimen Changes (since my big chop)

  1. Pingback: Year in Review: relaxed, Transitioning, NATURAL :) « curlstories

  2. Pingback: Seasons change,so should your regimen | Appreciating and loving the natural you!

Leave a Reply

