In Love with my Hair (top 3 things since being fully natural)

 

My first week since my mini big chop has been an emotional roller-coaster. It started out with fear of simply not knowing what to expect, or what styles would look good. I was also a little concerned about what others would think (still something I’m trying to get away from, trust me!) Then it quickly turned to excitement at the sight of my new look. There were also little bouts of insecurity sprinkled in there, but overall, I feel good 🙂 So I think it is worth talking about the top 3 things I love since becoming fully natural.

1. TEXTURE, TEXTURE, TEXTURE!

I have fallen in love with my hair! The first thing I noticed when I cut off my relaxed ends was how soft my hair was. I never remembered it being that soft when I was transitioning. I just couldn’t keep my hands out of it. I then loved the “bounce back” lol. Most ladies call it shrinkage. I can’t stop pulling on my twists and watching them bounce back in such a healthy way.

I LOVE being able to twist it without having to secure my ends. And I have been waiting so long to be able to wash in twists. It is everything I imagined (so much easier!).

2. Detangling (whaaat?)

Yes, I said detangling! My wash process, as a whole, took a bit longer than it did when I was transitioning, but it was still a lot easier. I was able to stroke a wide-toothed comb through my hair for the first time since around March or so. I had a few knots, but not many. It just overall felt so much stronger than when I was transitioning. I’ve heard many ladies talking about their hair coming alive when they shopped off their straight ends, but I honestly didn’t believe it until now.

3. Short & Sexy Styles

It took a couple of days to get used to shorter hair (my shrinkage is a mother!), but once I got the hang of it, threw on my make-up, and dangling earrings, I was on! I felt a new wave of confidence. I felt like a model lol. I still haven’t had a chance to look at my options for shorter styles, but below is what I was working with this week.

Before, I go, I would be lying if I acted like this week was perfect (although it felt pretty close!). If there was anything that was keeping me up at night, it would be my poofy ends. They got a little better throughout the week as I moisturized and sealed, but they are hard to twist sometimes because they poof out quite a bit. I even did one more trim mid week just in case I didn’t get all of the straight ends initially. I will continue to monitor these. But other than that, I’m honestly really happy with my decision :).

~TS

 

One thought on “In Love with my Hair (top 3 things since being fully natural)

Leave a Reply

