Product Review: Olive Oil (as a detangler)

Over the past couple of months, I’ve been searching for a detangler I can use as a pre-poo/detangler on wash days. I started out with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration, one of my staples for co-washing. But it felt too heavy for my pre-poo and it seemed as if a lot of hair came out as I detangled.

I then tried Vatika Coconut Oil because it is a known light oil that many people use to pre-poo/detangle. For me, it was too light, and it was almost like detangling with no product on my hair.

So I then reluctantly tried Olive Oil. I was reluctant because I thought it would also be too light, and I figured I would have to go back to a heavy conditioner to get the job done. So here are the results.

Straight to the point:

I think I’ve found a winner! I used Winona Pure 100% Olive Oil, and the oil was heavy enough to give me a little slip (not as much as I’d have with a conditioner of course), but it didn’t weigh too heavily on my hair and cause breakage/excessive shedding. I bought this particular brand because it was in a very convenient spray bottle (I’ve been trying to tell you I’m lazy!), so the oil did not get everywhere. I found this at Walmart, so I’m pretty sure you can find it anywhere.

I will say that after leaving the olive oil on for 30 minutes, my hair is not as soft as it was when I pre-poo’d with Vatika coconut oil. However, I don’t mind as much because I still deep condition with a heavier conditioner once I wash my hair.

So, my Winona Pure Olive Oil is definitely a keeper.

Next week sneak peek! I’ve been using Aubrey Organics Honey Suckle Rose Conditioner as a deep conditioner and I will give a quick product review next week (after I move into my new place in Chicago!!! Yay :))

~TS

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Olive Oil (as a detangler)

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Aubrey Organics Honey Suckle Rose Conditioner « curlstories

  2. Pingback: Hair Regimen Changes (since my big chop) « curlstories

Leave a Reply

