My Own Product Challenge

I am the opposite of a product junkie. If I find something that works (or is good enough), I stick with it until it’s discontinued. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with this, but I am starting to feel like I’m missing out on products that can perform better. Plus, my hair’s needs (and texture) are still changing since I’m only 7 1/2 months into my transition to fully natural hair. It’s time to start venturing out and trying more products, so that I am able to adjust as my hair adjusts.

I’m pretty risk averse, so exploring products is a daunting task for me (I’m not a fan of the error part in “trial and error” lol). I need a system where I can easily track changes to my hair and the impact the different products may have. So to help myself through this, I plan to do the following:

1. First I will document the products I use now, the effects they have on my hair, and why I love/don’t care for them.

2. I will alter one product within my regimen at a time, and will try to use it for at least one month to give it time to work (hopefully I can report out results on a monthly basis).

3. I need some type of goal for this challenge. I’m not trying to maintain length because I still have relaxed ends that I cut off every couple of months. So instead, I’m going for less breakage (as a result of more moisturized and more manageable hair).

My current regimen:

Every 4-6 weeks

  • Finger-detangle (Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner)
  • Clarify wash (Paul Mitchell Shampoo 3)
  • Light protein condition (Aphogee 2-Minute Reconstructor)
  • Deep condition under hooded dryer (KeraCare Humecto Cream Conditioner)
  • Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie as leave-in
  • Shea Moisture Reconstructive Elixir (for shine), then style.

Weekly (weekend)

  • Finger-detangle (Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner)
  • Sulfate-free wash (Shea Moisture Moisture Retention Shampoo)
  • Light protein condition (Aphogee 2-Minute Reconstructor) – I use this if my hair has become limp since my last clarifying wash. If limp, I typically need more protein. However, if my hair still feels strong from my clarifying/protein treatment I will deep condition with KeraCare Humecto Creme Conditioner.
  • Chi Keratin Mist and Cantu Shea Butter as leave-in – Again, this is protein heavy, so if my hair has too much protein, I will use Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie instead of the Chi Keratin Mist and Cantu Shea Butter (I’ve found that the Curl Smoothie leaves my hair feeling softer than the Cantu Shea Butter).
  • Shea Moisture Reconstructive Elixir (for shine), then style.

Weekly (mid-week)

  • Conditioner wash (Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner)
  • Light protein condition (Aphogee 2-Minute Reconstructor)
  • Chi Keratin Mist and Cantu Shea Butter as leave-in – or – Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie (depending on how my hair feels).
  • Shea Moisture Reconstructive Elixir (for shine), then style.

Daily

  • Seal with Cantu Shea Butter and Shea Moisture Reconstructive Elixir, then style.

Just an FYI, I don’t really like mixing my own concoctions. I just don’t trust myself lol. So I’m sure most products I try will be manufactured and available at most stores (or at least online). I plan to start with products used by those with similar textures (and positive results of course :)). I need to research this week still, so I plan to buy my first product next weekend.

So there you have it! I’m really excited about what I can learn from this challenge. Stay tuned for more updates!

~TS

2 thoughts on “My Own Product Challenge

  1. Pingback: Product Challenge Contender #1: Vatika Coconut Oil « curlstories

  2. Pingback: Natural Hair Takeover « curlstories

Leave a Reply

