Finger-Detangling Update

A couple of weeks ago I decided to put down the comb and only detangle and style my hair with my fingers. Bold, I know. Especially since I am now in my 6 month of transitioning from relaxed to natural hair. I’ve read countless transition stories, and this is where a lot of ladies bow out (understandably so!), and believe me, not one day goes by without contemplating the big chop! But I want to hang in there (I really do have a complex where I HAVE to finish what I start lol). I figure it’s going to take some major adjustments to be a long-term transitioner, or whatever we’re called. So putting down the comb is one of my many adjustments.

So after two weeks, I think I will stick with finger-detangling. It hasn’t shaved off time. It actually takes a bit longer. And I have to (or find myself) smoothing my hair throughout the week while twisting it before bed, to make sure it’s not knotting up. But the main benefit is that I’m seeing a lot less breakage. I could stand to be more patient. My fingers still tear out hairs it probably shouldn’t, but it is definitely a step forward.

One other benefit is that finger-detangling forces me to get to know my hair a bit more (or maybe I’m just paying more attention now!). For example, now I know the back of my head tangles a lot less than the top of my head (where I spend the bulk of my time). I think it’s because I have a lot more relaxed hair on top. A couple of months ago, I put my hair in 4 large twists and clipped a few inches of relaxed hair. This left a lot of length on top of my head, and a shorter length in the back (it doesn’t look as crazy as it sounds lol). Right now, I’m definitely noticing that the relaxed hair tangles more. Yes, another reason for a big chop, but bear with me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I plan to cut a few more inches (off the top) in a month or so, after my best friend gets married. I have no clue how it’s going to turn out and I probably shouldn’t look crazy for her big day!

I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for listening!

~TS

4 thoughts on “Finger-Detangling Update

    • Glad you think so too! I probably won’t go to a comb again until I’m fully natural, because these two textures are almost impossible! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Pingback: Product Challenge Contender #1: Vatika Coconut Oil « curlstories

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Vatika Coconut Oil « curlstories

Leave a Reply

